STRAVINSKY, I.: Rite of Spring (The) / Capriccio / Symphony of Psalms (Bernstein)

STRAVINSKY, I.: Rite of Spring (The) / Capriccio / Symphony of Psalms (Bernstein)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Stravinsky, Igor - Composer
Le sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)
Symphony of Psalms

Venue: Royal Albert Hall, London
Playing Time: 01:22:56
Catalogue Number: ICAD5124
UPC: 5060244551244

The ICA Classics Legacy series presents a collection of historic performances by some of the world's greatest artists. These performances are released on video for the first time, incorporating rare archive footage that has been expertly and lovingly restored.

This memorial concert took place at the Royal Albert Hall in April 1972 on the first anniversary of the death of Igor Stravinsky, 'that last great father-figure of Western music' (Leonard Bernstein). Bernstein called it an homage to Stravinsky's universality and chose the three featured masterpieces for their suggestion of 'the extraordinary range of his art'. Conducted by Bernstein, this electrifying, unique event is now being re-introduced to the public in DVD form.

Part 1

Select language: