MENDELSSOHN, F.: Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4 (Munch)

MENDELSSOHN, F.: Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4 (Munch)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Munch, Charles

Venue: Sanders Theatre, Harvard University
Playing Time: 01:10:20
Catalogue Number: ICAD5039
UPC: 5060244550391

Characteristically lively renditions, Charles Munch's interpretations of both Mendelssohn symphonies are energetic and precise with excellent articulation from the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

The ICA Classics Legacy series represents a historic account of performances by some of the world's greatest artists. This video features some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and their Music Director, Charles Munch.

While the material has been restored using the greatest care and state-of-the-art techniques, certain visual artefacts and distortions remain in some instances due to the age of the film. Despite this, it remains of exceptional musical interest and historic value and is released here for the first time on video.

Part 1

Part 2

Select language: